Karim Benzema

The Pichichi, Zamora, and Zarra trophies are given out to the top overall scorer, the goalkeeper who conceded the fewest goals, and the top Spanish scorer.

The 2021/22 LaLiga Santander season has reached its conclusion and there are some players who deserve special recognition.

That is why the Pichichi Trophy, the Zamora Trophy, and the Zarra Trophy are awarded every year. These are the awards presented to the competition’s top scorer, the goalkeeper who conceded the fewest goals per game and the top Spanish scorer in LaLiga Santander.

With the winners of these individual trophies now known, here comes a look at the numbers that saw four players claim these three honours.

Pichichi Trophy: For the first time in his career, Karim Benzema is the top scorer

The Pichichi Trophy for the 2021/22 season had a clear winner. Real Madrid’s No.9, Karim Benzema, led the way with 27 goals in LaLiga Santander, netting 10 more times than second-top scorers Vinícius, Iago Aspas and Raúl de Tomás. On 11 occasions, he scored the opening goal of the match, so was key to Real Madrid’s title win.

It has been the best season of Benzema’s career in terms of goals, while this is his first time winning the Pichichi Trophy. He has also become the first Real Madrid player to win it since Cristiano Ronaldo.

Zamora Trophy: Bono is the first-ever Sevilla FC player to win the Zamora

Sevilla FC goalkeeper Bono has won the Zamora Trophy, which is awarded every year to the goalkeeper with the best goals conceded per game ratio.

He finished the campaign with 24 goals conceded in 31 games played, which is 0.77 goals per game. He was followed by Thibaut Courtois, with the Real Madrid goalkeeper second through his coefficient of 0.81.

The Moroccan has, therefore, become the first Sevilla FC player to ever achieve what is the greatest individual recognition for a goalkeeper in LaLiga Santander.

Zarra Trophy: A prize that is shared

The Zarra Trophy is the prize given out for the top-scoring Spaniard of each LaLiga Santander campaign.

This year, there are two winners, as Iago Aspas and Raúl de Tomás finished the season level on 17 goals. Although some credited the RC Celta player with 18 goals, the organiser of the Zarra Trophy, MARCA, has awarded him one goalless.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here