Andy Yiadom

Ghana’s Andy Yiadom no longer believes the controversial penalty against South Africa was a clear foul.

As Futaa reported this week, South Africa’s Qatar 2022 World Cup dreams ended last Sunday after a 1-0 defeat at the hands of the eventual group winners Ghana.

But the dubious winning penalty that earned the Black Stars the win has uncovered claims of match-fixing after referee Moguetta Ndiaye’s work on the night.

“When I was on the pitch it looked like it was a penalty, but I have watched it back, it was a little bit soft,” the Ghana defender told World Football on the BBC World Service.

“But it is football and I have had them given against me plenty of times and it is one of those things, and it was about actually scoring the penalty which we did.

“I have been the person who has just touched him and the other person has just fallen over. At the moment, I know we won the game and that’s that,” the Reading star concluded.

Meanwhile, FIFA is due to give a final verdict on 23 November after accepting to launch an investigation following South Africa’s formal complaint.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here