2022 World Cup

South Africa feels its 2022 World Cup dream was ended with a dubious penalty decision against Ghana on Sunday night.

In what was a final Group G clash, the Black Stars needed home victory while South Africa needed at least a draw to finish as group winners.

The match was decided by a superb Andre Ayew penalty in the 31st minute. However, the referee’s decision to award the penalty is rather questionable.

A cross came into South Africa’s box towards Daniel Amartey, who, with hardly a touch from the challenging defender, Rushine de Reuck, flew to the ground to win a spot-kick.

The incident has thus demanded FIFA’s intervention to investigate a corruption case against the Senegalese referee Maguette N’Diaye.

Meanwhile, the 1-0 result helped the Black Stars to progress to the final round of CAF’s 2020 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

It is now reported that South Africa will contact higher authorities to investigate a corruption complaint.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here